Chocolate Pudding Cake

Chocolate Pudding Cake

Kids can be ungrateful little turds.  I was that kid.  My mom would make us this delicious chocolate pudding cake when we were kids.  It didn’t matter that it came from a box.  Honestly, the stuff was super delicious.  I bet they still sell it in Canada.  It was from the company Robin Hood which is known to make amazing flour…so much so that my mom would bring in flour from Canada when she would make pie dough while living in Florida.  I can’t make pie dough to save my life (as we all know) so my flour is still All-American and I can work with that.  I think even my friend Marlys from “This and That- my love of cooking and photography” blog also brings in her flour to the US…I hope that wasn’t a secret…ooops…

ANYWAY…(dang I hate it when I wander around with my thoughts) the Cake.  It was something my mom would make on a weekly basis.  Nothing fancy just a quick dessert to satisfy our little family.  I ate it with no fuss….well I pretty much eat everything with no fuss…except mashed potatoes…YUCK YUCK YUCK….don’t bother…I hate them.

THE CAKE….darn…so, I have been missing this cake.  A lot more than I would have imagined.  I decided I should come up with something along the same lines.  Maybe I miss my mom, maybe it’s the weather, maybe it’s because my kids often make me question my own sanity…yep….that would be the one!

THE CAKE…it’s about the cake!

Note: Adapted from: Chocolate Cake, The Louisiana Proud Collection of Home Cooking

Ingredients:

1 cup flour (American all-purpose flour seems acceptable here!)  :)

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoon baking powder

2 tablespoon cocoa

1/2 cup milk

2 tablespoons melted butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cocoa

1 cup warm water

How to:

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease or spray an 8 X 11 baking dish, set aside.

In a large bowl combine your flour, salt, sugar (first 3/4 cup), baking powder, and cocoa (first 2 tablespoons).  Add your milk, melted butter and vanilla, combine well.  Pour into your prepared pan.  In a small bowl combine your sugar (other 3/4 cup) and cocoa (other 3 tablespoons).  Sprinkle over your cake batter.  Pour your warm water on top of sugar mixture.  DO NOT STIR.  (yes it will look ugly…fight the urge to touch anything!)  Bake in your preheated oven for 45 minutes or until cake part is done.  Serve warm with ice cream or whipped cream.

layer #1, the batter

layer #2, cocoa and sugar…yummy

and finally the warm water

not pretty and water is not even BUT DO NOT TOUCH IT…trust me!

fresh out of the oven, smelling amazing and hiding the most important part…

the pudding underneath it all…simply perfect and so delicious

Printer Friendly: Chocolate Pudding Cake

creamy & chocolaty…cake and pudding together what a great union!

To my mom: “I am sorry Mom if I didn’t appreciate how delicious this was as a child.  I love all your food, all except your mashed potatoes, I hear they are delicious…I think I might be allergic to mashed potatoes but not to chocolate.  Love your favorite (and only) daughter, Isabelle”

Peace and don’t be ungrateful little brats,

Isabelle

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Pudding Cake

  1. Isabelle, I don’t know which I like better — your cake or your story — BOTH of them made me smile! You’re right, it must be the weather or something — I’ve been craving (and making, and eating…) chocolatey things, too. This looks delish!

  2. Your cake looks wonderful. I will have to try it… And yes, I brought in flour from Canada until this year when I ran out and not going home and forgot to ask anyone that to bring me any :(… So I have to learn to bake with American flour. I did make pie crust with the King Arthur flour (as did research and that is comparable to the Vienna Unbleach Flour I was using from Canada) and it turned out good… Now to make some bread or rolls that will be the test….

  3. This pudding cake is right up my ally and sure enough, it’d turn me from un ungrateful brat to dancing in seventh heaven! Looks amazing and addicting

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

