Linguini with Lemon-Cream Sauce

Linguini with Lemon-Cream Sauce

I would like to pat myself on the back for sticking with something for 3 consecutive months.  Bravo Isabelle.  OK, OK, I will stop that immediately since it is quite annoying when people refer to themselves in such a way.  The fact is; I am now on my third installment of Every Day Food by Martha Stewart, If you recall…. or don’t…even I don’t recall why I do the things I do!

First was: Sweet and Sour Chicken with Sesame Noodles

Second: Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake

And now I am on November 2010, Edition 77.

I am on a roll…well sort of.  The fact that I still feel guilty for having all those lovely little magazines in my home and that I am such a hoarder of cookbooks, might have a little something to do with this continual plan!

Ingredients:

Coarse Salt and Ground Pepper

1 lb Linguini

1 teaspoon olive oil

2 shallots, minced

1 cup heavy cream (don’t fight me on this…it is worth it!)

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest, plus 2 tablespoons lemon juice (from 1 lemon)

How to:

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta according to package instructions.  Reserve 1 cup pasta water; drain pasta and return to pot.  Meanwhile, in a small pot, heat oil over medium heat.  Add shallots, season with salt and pepper and cook stirring, until tender, about 4 minutes.  Add cream and lemon zest.  Bring to a boil and cook until slightly thickened, about 8 minutes.  Add lemon juice and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Pour cream sauce over pasta and toss, adding enough pasta water to create a thin sauce that coats pasta.

I wish you could smell the lovely lemony fragrance of this sauce…heavenly!

Verdict: yummy!  I served the pasta with some chicken sausage and sauteed vegetables but this could easily be served alone.

lovely, simple and perfect pasta….my favorite

Printer Friendly: Linguini with Lemon-Cream Sauce

Peace and On a Roll,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Linguini with Lemon-Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Sesame Beef | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

