Wild Rice Salad

nothing to do with a rice salad just wanted to share with you this picture I took!

nothing to do with a rice salad just wanted to share with you this picture I took!

This recipe was given to me by my lovely neighbor Kristie who went to Napa Valley with her husband a few weeks ago.  Although I am still sour over the fact that I haven’t been yet and I can drink wine like a lush camel.  AND, I am completely obsessed with food and wine and wine and wine…I was still happy she brought me this recipe.

This recipe is from The Rutherford Grill in Rutherford, California.  Here is their lovely website: Rutherford Grill

They have a lovely menu and an amazing wine selection….which if you are into wine and fancy stuff like that you would be happy….WHATEVER….OK the bitterness is rearing it’s ugly head…I apologize.

Amazing Wild Rice Salad

Amazing Wild Rice Salad

Ingredients:

4 cups water

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup wild rice (about 6 oz.)

1/2 cup finely chopped dried calimyrna figs or golden raisins

1/3 cup chopped toasted pecans

1/3 cup chopped toasted unsalted cashews (all I had was lightly salted..) or almonds

1/4 cup finely chopped green onions

2 tablespoons finely chopped celery

2 tablespoons finely chopped red onions

1/2 cup corn (optional..not in original recipe but Kristie said the restaurant put some in the day she was there)

2 tablespoons raspberry vinegar or red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1 garlic clove minced

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup olive oil

salt to taste

ground pepper to taste

How to:

Combine 4 cups water and salt in medium saucepan and bring to a boil.  Add rice.  Reduce heat to medium-low, cover and simmer until rice is tender, about 45 minutes.  Drain well.  Cool.

Transfer rice to large bowl.  Mix in figs, pecans, cashews, green onions, celery and red onion.  (Can be prepared 1 day ahead.  Cover and refrigerate.)

this is where you could stop for now, cover and refrigerate until ready to add the dressing

this is where you could stop for now, cover and refrigerate until ready to add the dressing

Mix vinegar, lemon juice, garlic, mustard and sugar in blender.  With blender running, gradually mix in both oils.

Pour dressing over rice mixture and toss.  Season salad with salt and pepper.

add your dressing and toss to combine, cover until ready to serve

add your dressing and toss to combine, cover until ready to serve

Serve, this is a delicious side for grilled meat or as a summer lunch with a crisp glass of white wine.

delectable combination of flavors and so easy to prepare: the perfect summer salad!

delectable combination of flavors and so easy to prepare: the perfect summer salad!

I am in love with this salad.  I know it’s ridiculous but I want to eat it everyday!  So far, since she gave me the recipe I have made it 3 times!  It also worked wonderfully with  a “wild rice combo” as opposed to only wild rice.
Printer Friendly: Wild Rice Salad
Peace and Napa…soon I hope :)
Isabelle

Find my recipe linked here as well:

               

10 thoughts on “Wild Rice Salad

  1. Just made this with truRoots organic sprouted rice and quinoa blend, purchased at Costco. Added some extra golden raisins. Wow, it is just so darn good!! Serving for dinner with an aged, Green Egg grilled strip steak, and fresh green pole beans from the farmers’ market. Company will love it!!

  2. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

