Lemon Squares

It is no secret that I love to cook and bake.  I also love lemons.  I even have a Meyer Lemon tree in my house.  I am hoping it will continue to produce this coming year.  So far I have had 5 lemons from my lovely tree.  Yes, I know it is quite silly to keep track of the number of lemons my tree produces but then again I also keep track of how many eggs my chickens have laid…we are officially as of right this moment: 2021 eggs not bad for 12 little chicks in Nerdy Isabelle Land :)

This recipe is an adaptation of the Lemon Square 500 Treasured Country Recipe Cookbook by Martha Storey and Friends.  I am unsure of how many friends she has ;)

Lemon Squares

Ingredients:

Crust:

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup butter (unsalted)

1/4 teaspoon almond extract (not in original recipe but well worth the add!)

Filling:

1 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

2 eggs, beaten

2 tablespoons lemon juice

Zest 1 lemon

Topping:

2 tablespoons lemon juice

3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

1 tablespoon butter (unsalted at room temperature)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Mix together the sugar, salt and the flour then cut in the butter.  Pat the dough into an 8X8-inch square pan and bake for 15 minutes.  Remove from the oven.

lovely buttery golden crust

For the filling, beat together all the ingredients (I actually did this by hand) and spread on top of the crust.  Return to the oven and bake for 25 minutes longer.  Cool completely.

liquid lemon

straight from the oven, gorgeous golden color and smells fantastic

To make the topping, blend all the ingredients by using a small whisk.  If necessary, add more sugar to make a good spreading consistency.  Spread onto the filling and let set until top is hardened.  Cut into squares and Enjoy :)

almost ready

ooooh sweet tartness :)

Printer Friendly: Lemon Squares

Peace and Count it,

Isabelle

18 thoughts on “Lemon Squares

  1. Isabelle, I’ve lost track of the number of times you’ve made me smile with your sweet, tart way of looking at life. Let’s just say it’s a LOT! Love that “liquid lemon” caption!

  2. We have a blueberry bush and although I don’t know haw many I have picked, it is fun to see how much more I get to pick each year. The first year I got a handful. hated sharing them but I’m a mom and we have to. Second year we got about 3 handfuls. The next we got about a quart. Last year we got about a gallon. Can’t wait for this year!

  3. First of all, dear Isabelle, let me say that I LOVE Nerdy Isabelle Land! You ROCK! And may I add that I really truly thought I already had THE best Lemon Square recipe out there! I consider myself corrected, even before the bake/taste test. wow. I just love it when life gets better and better and better :) Thanks and hugs!

  4. I am forever looking for a great lemon recipe & appreciate you sharing this one. Though, I’m a good baker my lemon squares I made a few years back where not all that & have since shyed away from making them again (prob. because my guy isn’t into anything too lemony). But alas, the lemon urge is on big time & look forward to making yours.

  5. Oooh. Those look lovely and gooey and I want dive into a vat of those! Then you can sprinkle me with zest and powdered sugar, Isabelle. Pretty please?

  6. Wow, I really like your idea of putting a glazed topping onto those bars instead of the regular powdered sugar. They look so much more luscious that way.

  7. Hi Isabelle, I’m new to your blog and I find your recipes right up my alley…I can’t wait to try more. I attempted to make this recipe yesterday but it didn’t turn out :( I’m not sure why?? I had a graham cracker crust in the pantry so I decided to make you filling and I put it in the crust I had…..followed the rest of the directions but after 25 minutes the filling was very dark brown on top and still very runny …I couldn’t leave it in the oven any longer because it was staring to burn. Is it because I used a different pie crust?? It tasted really good (yes I still ate around the crust..lol) and i want to try it again do you have any suggestions?? Thank you from a new follower!!

    • Oh Cathy I am so sorry it didn’t work out…my only guess would be the crust. I must say even when I burn stuff I still eat around the burn part as well. But again sorry it didn’t work, I will keep thinking what else it could have been…I am unsure at this point!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

