Mrs G’s Cream of Wild Rice Soup

Nothing makes me happier than when I run into people and they tell me how much they like my blog.  Well a lot of things make me happy but that is extremely nice of people to say.  Also, I love when they offer me a wonderful recipe, better yet if it is something their family loves.  I feel so special, I am honored that they trust me to share this recipe with everyone.

Mrs G is actually Mrs Ann Gandolph, our now retired Elementary P.E. teacher.  I loved to sub for her P.E. class, so much fun!

I saw Mrs Gandolph at the gym and she said: “I have to give you this great recipe for soup, it needs a little something, maybe you can figure it out”.  Sounds great!  Right away I thought: fresh herbs…..it’s always the ticket in my opinion.

I have to be honest, I didn’t change anything other than fresh herbs, a bit more chicken and rice.

thick, cream and so satisfying, everyone loved it!

Ingredients:

3-4 cups cooked wild rice ( I made 2, 4-ounces boxes of Reese all natural Minn. Wild Rice)

1 large onion finely diced

1 carrot finely diced

1 rib celery finely diced

2 cups cooked chicken (or turkey)

1/2 cup butter

1 cup flour

8 cups chicken warm broth (homemade better or low sodium)

2 bay leaves

1 teaspoon fresh thyme

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup milk (or 1/2 and 1/2)

Prepared wild rice according to package directions, set aside.

In a large dutch oven melt your butter and add your onion, carrot and celery.  Cook on medium low for 5 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your flour and combine well with your vegetables.  Cook for 1-2 minutes.  Carefully add your warm chicken broth.  Turn up the heat and while constantly whisking bring this to a boil.  Reduce heat and add your bay leaves, fresh thyme, salt and pepper.  Cook for 5 minutes and add your chicken and rice, cook for 5 more minutes and finally add your milk.  Do not bring back up to a boil but keep warm until ready to serve.  Adjust seasoning if needed.

Delicious soup, amazing leftovers, wild rice is really perfect for this soup

***Don’t forget to remove your bay leaves prior to serving.

This is a great soup for any occasion, perfect for leftover turkey or roasted chicken.

Printer Friendly: Mrs G’s Cream of Wild Rice Soup

Peace and Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Mrs G’s Cream of Wild Rice Soup

  1. That looks delicious! (Hi Mrs. G!). I always do a big, silly dance inside when someone makes something I’ve posted or mentions the blog, too! BTW – we always leave the bay leaf in and warn everyone. In my house – if you get the bay leaf – it’s good luck! …of course, for those unfamiliar, we remind them NOT to eat it!

  2. Gotta love Minnesota wild rice. :) This is one of my all-time favorite soups, but I’ve never made it with fresh thyme or bay leaves — sounds perfect. Thanks, too, Isabelle, for your suggestion to make it with turkey! We’ll all be looking for “leftover” recipes in the coming days — I know what I’m going to make. :) Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Pingback: Turkey Rice Soup, a Great Way to Use Your Leftover Turkey

  4. Isabelle,
    I am making the new and improved Chicken and Wild Rice Soup for book club tomorrow. I am looking forward to the new taste.

  5. Pingback: It’s a Soup Supper Recipe Round-Up!! | An Affair from the Heart

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

