Sausage and Butternut Squash Ravioli

Welcome to Part Two/Part Deux of the Roasted Butternut Squash.

same photo, different day :)

same photo, different day :)

As much as I love the Roasted Butternut Squash Pasta this is a luscious, rich and amazingly flavorful dish.  I think Sunshine said it best when I asked her what she thought of my ravioli, she said: “yum, it’s like heaven in my mouth”.  Gotta love a 14 year old’s perspective on heaven!

Ingredients:

1 pound Italian turkey sausage cooked

2 cups “leftover” roasted butternut squash (with the juices)

1 tablespoon dried (rubbed) sage

Salt and Pepper

1 package wonton wrappers (small square)

1 egg wash (add 1 tablespoon water to an egg and using a fork blend well)

1/2 cup salted butter

7 sage leaves (3 whole and 4 finely chopped)

Fresh Parmesan (for serving)

How to:

In a large bowl combine your cooked sausage, your butternut squash, dried sage, salt and pepper.  Mix well with a wooden spoon and then mash everything with a potato masher.  I like to use a potato masher but you could use a food processor if you prefer, I find it makes it too mushy but that’s just me.  Lay your wonton wrapper on a clean surface and using a small scoop (1 tablespoon size) or a spoon, put your filling on the wrapper.  Using a pastry brush, paint your egg wash on the outer edge of your wrapper.  Top with another wrapper and with your fingers press the dough together making sure there is no opening.

all ingredients ready to go

all ingredients ready to go

nice to see what a little potato masher can do

nice to see what a little potato masher can do

 

just the right amount of filling is important

just the right amount of filling is important

press the sides so the filling doesn't come out during the cooking process

press the sides so the filling doesn’t come out during the cooking process

 

get all your ducks in a row...well in this case ravioli

get all your ducks in a row…well in this case ravioli

You will end up with 40-45 ravioli.  I freeze half of them and use the other half with my brown butter sauce.  This is a pretty rich and filling dish so in reality 5-6 per person should be enough.

For the sauce:

In a large saucepan melt your butter on medium low heat.  Add your sage (whole and chopped) and cook until golden brown.

beautiful sage brown butter

beautiful sage brown butter

To cook your ravioli, you will need an extra large pot of water (well salted) bring to a boil and carefully drop the ravioli in.  They will only take a few minutes to cook.  They will rise to the top once ready.  Drain and add to your brown butter sauce.  Toss to combine and serve.  Top with fresh Parmesan cheese.

lovely nutty, sweet and salty flavors! YUMMY

lovely nutty, sweet and salty flavors! YUMMY

Printer Friendly: Sausage and Butternut Squash Ravioli

Peace and Heaven,

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Sausage and Butternut Squash Ravioli

  1. When I read your post yesterday, I was lol at the first picture. You’re such a hoot! :) Then I opened today’s post and laughed even harder! Isabelle, I love the way you do things!! I also have to agree with your daughter — this looks heavenly! (Wonton wrappers?! Who knew?!!!)

  2. Fabulous recipe. It’s just so fancy. I would not want to eat it. I’d want to just stare at it. Okay, so I’d still want to eat it. But I’d stare at it alot first.

  3. I LOVE won ton wrappers! So versatile! I don’t have a pasta maker so I use those a lot! Great recipe! I have made pumpkin rav but never squash..and so since I have SO MUCH right now I will have to try this!

  4. Pingback: Butternut Squash Cake | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

