Black-Bottom Banana Cream Pie

When I was a young innocent child (ha!) I had a bit of a “don’t mess with me” attitude (hard to believe isn’t it!)  If you have siblings then you will appreciate the theory that I could mess with my brother and torture him on a daily basis but no one else had that power over him.  No one.  My mom knew this all too well.  So it came to no surprise when she received a phone call from a neighbor telling her that her lovely daughter (that would be me) had thrown a bike (yes, I said thrown) at her son (not the angel he pretended to be).  When my mom asked me, I said: “yes, so?”  Charming wasn’t I?  I then proceeded to explain that I was tired of him bullying my brother.  Me defending my brother was taking away valuable play time with my friends.  So I figured I should make it extremely clear that I had better things to do.  Therefore throwing a bike at him was the clearest point I could make.  He stopped after that.  Then someone took him on and started bullying him (they even stabbed him with a pencil on his forehead and leg!…they also had a point to make).

Note: I have a childhood friend who reads my blog….I bet she just started laughing because she might have guessed who I am talking about…go ahead Sophie B. tell everyone who it is….

Black-Bottom Banana Cream Pie

This pie reminds me of what lies beneath the surface…things you just don’t always see right away (like my love for my little brother).  Also, after the “incident” with my espresso tart.  I decided to put Martha’s book aside and try my hand at something a little bit more….mmmm…me?  As in not complicated, not visually perfect and to the point!

Recipe from:  Rachael Ray Magazine Sept. 2011

Ingredients:

2 boxes (5.3 oz. each) all-butter shortbread cookies broken

1/4 tsp. salt

5 tbsp. unsalted butter, 3 tbsp. melted and 2 tbsp. cold

3 oz. bittersweet chocolate (60% to 70% cacao), in 3 hunks

2 cups whole milk

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup cornstarch

4 large egg yolks

1 tbsp. amber rum

1 cup heavy cream, chilled

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 large bananas

1 tbsp. confectioners sugar

How to:

Using a food processor, mix the shortbread with a pinch salt; process in long pulses until finely ground and beginning to stick to the sides. Add the melted butter and pulse just until incorporated. Transfer the crumbs to a 9-inch pie plate and press evenly into the bottom and up the sides. Freeze the pie shell. (note: you could easily use a pre-made graham cracker pie shell)

The crust, can't go wrong with shortbread cookies!

Place 2 oz. chocolate in a small bowl and set aside. In a heavy saucepan, whisk together the milk, granulated sugar, cornstarch and remaining salt. Whisk in the egg yolks over medium-high heat until the custard boils and is very thick, about 5 minutes. Remove from the heat, measure out 1/2 cup of the hot custard and add to the bowl of chocolate; let sit for a minute (the chocolate will melt by itself). Meanwhile, whisk the remaining 2 tbsp. (cold) butter into the custard in the saucepan. Stir in the rum and transfer the rum custard to a heatproof bowl. Refrigerate until well chilled, stirring occasionally, about 2 hours.

Meanwhile, stir the chocolate custard, then stir in 1 tbsp. cream and the vanilla. Remove the pie shell from the freezer and spread the chocolate custard across the bottom. Refrigerate to firm up.

Try not to eat all the chocolate custard....so yummy

Working over the pie shell, cut the bananas into 1/4-inch thick slices, letting them fall to cover the bottom. Spoon the rum custard over the bananas, smoothing the top. Refrigerate for 2 hours to set.

I had 3 "smallish" bananas...it worked!

Again try not to eat too much of the custard before it hits the pie!

Whip the remaining cream with the confectioners’ sugar until it forms soft peaks. Spread on top of the rum custard and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes or until serving time.

almost there!

Just before serving, using a vegetable peeler, shave curls off the remaining 1 oz. chocolate onto the top of the pie.

Ready to dig in :)

And of course this is where it got a bit ugly….

Not visually perfect but so delicious and creamy! Perfect combination with the delicious crust!

Printer Friendly: Black-Bottom Banana Cream Pie

Peace and What Lies Beneath,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Black-Bottom Banana Cream Pie

  1. Isabelle, I loved your childhood memories and the “moral of the story” about what lies beneath. My brother and I had a similar relationship. :) He would LOVE digging into this pie and discovering that chocolate layer… mmmmmmm. (Me, too!)

  2. Holy cow that looks good! What a good sister you are…in our family we can pick on each other, but we gang up when outsiders want a piece of the action!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

