Strawberry Muffins….because I had to!

Reminder: I do not like strawberries.

Problem: I have 3 lovely containers of strawberries in my fridge…starring at me.

Why: Because my Dad doesn’t listen.

What happened: I told my dad: “I need a few strawberries to decorate my strawberry cake for Matt’s birthday”.  He says: “I’ll get some”.  I say: “I will, I really only need a few”.  I went and bought a SMALL container of yucky (kiddin’) strawberries and decorated my cake…I was happy.  My dad shows up with 3 more large containers of strawberries!  He says:”what? They were on sale I couldn’t pass them up”.

What now: Since I can’t throw anything away, then I have to come up with some recipes to use my strawberries.

Decision: Strawberry Muffins with a Streudel Topping (to help me with the taste of strawberries!)

Ingredients:

1 cup fresh strawberries chopped (a big cup!)

1/2 cup sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons butter at room temperature

1/2 cup cream

1/2 cup plain yogurt

2 eggs at room temperature

1 teaspoon almond extract

Streudel Topping (optional): 1/2 cup flour, 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon, 3 tablespoons butter, 3 tablespoons brown sugar

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400F

Grease or line your muffin pan. I made 16 medium muffins but you could make 12 large if you prefer.  Set aside.

May I suggest you make your streudel topping first and set it aside.  It will help because once your muffins are ready to go in the oven then you won’t have to make the streudel, you can simply add it!  Put your flour, cinnamon and butter (cut in small pieces) in a medium bowl.  Using your fingertips mix your mixture until it resembles breadcrumbs.  Add your sugar and mix well.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl mix your strawberries with your sugar and set aside.

In another medium bowl mix your flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl or mixer, cream your butter.  Add your cream and yogurt.  Mix well.  Add your eggs and almond extract.  Add your strawberries and sugar mixture, making sure to add all the juices from the mixture.  Mix well.  Add your flour mixture at once and blend well.  Do not overmix otherwise you will have rock muffins!

Using a large scoop divide your batter into your prepared muffin pan.  Using a spoon scatter the streudel topping over each muffin.  Bake in your preheated oven for 20 minutes.

Yummy and pretty!

Printer friendly:  Strawberry Muffins

Peace and cream,

Isabelle

Note:  I have to admit…I love the muffins!  They are moist, creamy, soft (no “hard” strawberry pieces) and just enough crumble to satisfy everyone ;)

Note #2: find this lovely recipe on Sweet as Sugar Cookies super blog! : Sweets for a Saturday

9 thoughts on “Strawberry Muffins….because I had to!

  1. They look beautiful, Isabelle.

    It’s such a coincidence; I make muffins every Friday morning, so as soon as I was done checking my blog reader, I was going to head into the kitchen to make strawberry banana muffins. :) I hope mine turn out as well as yours.

  2. Isabelle, cette recette a l’air “cochonne” et je veux l’essayer au temps de NOS fraises …Ajoute un H à “trow away” par exemple …

  3. These muffins do look very good! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Too late, I am sure to help you with your overabundance of strawberries, but you can freeze them. Pull them out and they will work wonderfully in baked goods and smoothies, etc.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

