Chicken Fried Rice

Quick meals shouldn’t be complicated.  You should be able to pull everything out of your pantry and fridge.  No one wants to have to run to the store every time they make something for their family.  At times, I refuse to go to the grocery store.  I ,unlike a lot of people, LOVE to go grocery shopping.  I am like a kid in a candy store.  But there is nothing I hate more than wasting food.  So when thinking about dinner tonight I was tempted to run to the store and get more supplies.  I decided against it, I have so much to work with already, I can make a great dinner!

I have everything I need to make chicken fried rice.  The girls love it and it’s full of vegetables.  You can easily adjust the recipe with ingredients you have on hand.  The only change I plan on doing to my original recipe is how I incorporate my eggs.  I usually do it by whisking my eggs and pouring them in my hot pan (slightly tilted) with all ingredients pushed to the side already in the pan.  Then slowly cooking them….have I lost you?  It’s a simple way to do it…for me.

Change: make an omelet in your pan prior to cooking all other ingredients and cut into bite sizes, toss back into pan at the end.  Also add soy sauce to whisked eggs.  I read a recipe in Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food and the eggs were cooked prior to other ingredients. (She is the queen of all things!)

Ingredients: (please keep in mind you can substitute with what you have; protein for a protein, veg for a veg…etc..)

2 eggs

1/4 tsp of soy sauce

2 cups cooked rice (you could even use noodles…then it wouldn’t fried rice but still delicious!)

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size (also great with extra firm tofu!)

1 teaspoon fresh ginger (optional) do not use powdered ginger, it won’t work.

1 medium size onion chopped

3/4 cup frozen peas thawed

1 carrot cut into small Julienne

1 celery “stick” diced

3 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar (or regular white vinegar, or red wine vinegar)

1/4 teaspoon sesame oil (optional)

How to:

Whisk your eggs with 1/4 teaspoon of soy sauce.  Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large pan, add your eggs to your pan move around to cover the bottom of pan and let cook until set.  Do not stir eggs, when ready/cooked fold omelet, remove from pan and set aside.

In a small bowl mix your soy sauce, rice wine vinegar and sesame oil, set aside.

In the same pan heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil, add your onions and ginger.  Cook gently for 1 minute, add your chicken and stirring often cook until no longer pink. 5-10 minutes.  Add your vegetables – cook for 3 minutes then add your rice.  Stir everything to combine.  Cook for 2-3 minutes until rice is hot, then add your eggs.  Add your soy mixture and toss everything well to cover all ingredients.  Cook for 1-2 minute and serve.

Note: if you happen to have a wok, then you are one step ahead of the game!

You could also top with fresh green onions thinly sliced, very pretty! (I didn’t have any green onions!)

I always serve extra soy sauce on the side, just because my girly girls love it!

Printed Friendly: Chicken Fried Rice

Peace and Peas! I love peas…and peace!

Isabelle

note: my recipe is also on: Coupon Cookin\’

9 thoughts on “Chicken Fried Rice

  1. I agree with you about not wasting food. I’d rather put the effort into “transforming” things on hand — plus its fun! By the way, you’re not alone in “tilting the skillet” — I do that, too! :)

  2. Pingback: Sweet and Sticky Spareribs « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

